One Month from Tomorrow

On April 21st I hope to be with my team in Swaziland. This is not something I ever thought could happen. But I received my passport today! All I need is my plane ticket. They say that if it is God’s will then it is God’s bill and I am trusting and believing that He will make it happen.

I am reading Emotionally Healthy Spirituality by Peter Scazzero to prepare myself for this trip. Brittany read it recently and wanted me to read it as well. I highly recommend this book to everyone.  It has really made me think about why I react the way I do to certain situations.

This Race that Brittany is on has been so very different from anything we had anticipated. We belonged to churches where folks would travel to different countries and build school rooms, teach bible school, spend a week in the country and then leave. Frankly I will admit, I was not at all impressed. In fact I felt that some of these folks were working out some kind of guilt they may have been feeling for not doing enough at home. Many of these folks would not help someone in their own town ever. And so I admit it, I was not for overseas missions.

My feelings were that there are hungry children here, children who have substandard housing and schooling children who need our help and assistance to make their communities safer. I have spent the last 16 years of my life working in many communities across the United States including my own.

Then Brittany messaged me and asked me to take a look at http://www.theworldrace.org she was excited at the possibility of being able to go and minister to children all over the world. I knew that she was searching for her place in this world and I told her to go for it. She did and last September she left for Guatemala and I have had the privilege of watching her grow.

I went to parent launch last September before she left and learned about this company that would be watching over my daughter for the next 11 months and I admit I was impressed. They partner with missions in these countries. They go and make a real difference in the lives of the folks that they touch. They minister to people from Matthew 10.

The change in my child is amazing! She cut off all of her long beautiful hair before she left. She doesn’t worry about having multiple outfits per day to wear.  She is learning to live in community which I think has been one of the hardest parts of the trip for her. And she is learning to forgive. She still has growing to do as we all do. And I know that she will still have more to do when she comes home.

I am looking forward to spending time with her in ministry, I am looking forward to serving a community across the globe. I am looking forward to learning about another culture.

Now I admit I will be stretched because I am not an outdoors girl, I don’t like bugs, and air conditioning is my best friend in the summer. But those are all first world problems. And what I have learned from Brittany these last 7 months is that none of that is important.

I am asking for help with my plane ticket. It will cost me $1800. Please consider helping. This squad of folks is being filmed for a documentary so you will get to see some of the adventures soon.

Here is my link:

http://www.gofundme.com/nvsy6w

Thank you for your help!

Leave a Reply

