Hello world!

I have been thinking of starting a blog for a long time and tonight I was prompted by a friend to start one. We were discussing my upcoming trip to Swaziland to join my daughter in mission work in the field.

I applied for my passport today and it was a surprisingly emotional event for me. I had a passport when I was 16 because I went to France and Switzerland with my high school. I remember going to the post office to apply. When the postal employee told my mother that she had to list my father on the application she almost walked out in refusal. She calmed down and I got my passport and was able to go.

As I drove away from the post office today I was reminded of that event and I started to cry. I have really missed my mom this week for a number of reasons, but I was thinking of how proud she would be to know that her granddaughter was traveling the world, spreading the love of God.

I was emotional because I did not think this trip was even possible but People reached out and things started falling into place. I need to get my plane ticket now and I will be set for the big items for the trip. I am in awe of the kindness and generosity of my friends and the other parents going on this trip. I am thankful that I will get to hug my daughter who has been away since September. And I am working to prepare myself to be so far away.

My daughter asked me tonight how I will feel when a baby with no diaper reaches up to be held. This will be a very different experience for me. But I am looking forward to how this will stretch and grow me.

Did I mention there will be a documentary being filmed while I am there? So I will have to be on my best behavior. All kidding aside I am so thankful for this opportunity.

11021188_10152643099516857_7984645406915873786_n
Brittany in India

I have a GoFundMe site. Please consider contributing. Here is the link:

http://www.gofundme.com/nvsy6w

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

